Anderson County Chamber Presents 2023 Business Excellence Awards
The Anderson County Chamber of Commerce honored ”The Best of 2023” at its annual Business Awards Luncheon Tuesday, Feb. 6, at Faith Promise Church Anderson Campus in Clinton.
The Business Excellence Awards are given each year to members who have had an impact on the community and the Chamber. The award winners are nominated by the Chamber membership.
“We appreciate our valued Chamber members and community partners for their investment in the community and their volunteer spirit that contributes to the lifestyle we enjoy, making Anderson County a great place to work, live, and play,”  Rick Meredith, Chamber President and CEO, said.
Meredith also updated those attending the luncheon on the “Building a Better Future” fund drive for the new Chamber building and invited the community to help pave the way to the future by purchasing laser engraved bricks that will be featured in a walkway and plaza at its new headquarters and community building.
Callie Archer, President of Junior Achievement of East Tennessee and 2023 Chamber Board Chair, passed the Chair’s gavel to Trey McAdams, with State Farm Insurance and the 2024 Chamber Board Chair. McAdams presented Archer with a plaque in thanks for her service.
Among the awards announced at the luncheon were the R.C. Hoskins Volunteer Awards. Gene Patterson, former Chamber Board Member, presented the awards to Connor Peak, staff accountant with P&L Business Services, and Sara Knight, human resources generalist with Y-12 Credit Union. Hoskins was the owner of Hoskins Drug Store when he became the first president of the Chamber, then called the Clinton Chamber, organized in 1932.
The Young Professional of the Year Award went to Rodney Coker, presented by 2023 Chamber Chair Callie Archer. Coker is owner of two Clinton businesses and has been affiliated with  Ace Hardware for 18 years. Coker is owner of Coker Rental Company and Coker Waste Solutions.
Angie Partin, Vice President at Southern Bank of Tennessee, received the Ambassador of the Year Award. Amanda Brackett, Chamber Ambassadors Chair, presented the award, praising her exceptional dedication and ability to mobilize resources and rally support from the community. Ambassadors establish a personal connection with Chamber members and encourage them to maximize their Chamber membership benefits.
The President’s Award went to Scott Bacon, board President of The Education Foundation for Clinton City and Anderson County Schools. Meredith presented the award to Bacon, who is retired from Knox County Schools. He started a non-profit, Partners in Education, working with school districts across the east region in developing and sustaining positive partnerships.
Herbie Clark, recently retired from State Farm after a 52-year career with the insurance company, was honored with the Legacy Award. Meredith presented the award, and Trey McAdams, the 2024 Chamber Chair and also with State Farm, accepted it on behalf of Clark.
Awards for 2023 Business Excellence announced earlier this year were:
•     Woman-Owned Business Excellence to Genesis Real Estate Title, owned by Carla Burroughs. The company celebrated its 10 anniversary last year. Tammy Gross presented Burroughs with the award.
•     Small Business Excellence to C&D Printing, Clinton, owned by Charlie Lane, in business for more than 33 years. Larry Gann presented the award.
•     Large Business Excellence to GEON Performance Solutions, a leader in plastic compounded solutions, located in Carden Farm Industrial Park. Meredith presented the award.
•     Veteran-Owned Business to McGrew Engineering & Surveying, in business more than 40 years and owned by Alex McGrew. Bear Stephenson, also a veteran, presented the award.
•     Non-Profit of the Year to Isiah 117 House, providing care and support for children awaiting foster care placement.
“Isiah 117 provides a comforting home where these children can be brought to wait – a place that is safe with friendly and loving volunteers who provide clean clothes, smiles, toys and snuggly blankets,” said Joey Smith in presenting the award.
Callie Archer recognized and thanked the outgoing Chamber board members for their service: Gene Patterson, Rob Neil,  Teresa Duncan, and John Roberts.
Rick Meredith thanked the event’s sponsors, Apple Blossom Café & Catering, Consolidated Nuclear Security, which operates the Y-12 National Security Complex, and Y-12 Credit Union.
To learn more about the Anderson County Chamber Foundation, which is leading the fund drive, and the new building, visit the Foundation website at For information about the Anderson County Chamber of Commerce, see the Chamber’s website at

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Post comment